top of page
  • Writer's pictureDustin

I Wore The Same T-Shirt For A Week

Updated: Nov 15, 2021

So the other day I was scrolling around Buzzfeed and I found the most peculiar article. It was titled “6 Super Different Ways You Can Style A Vintage T-Shirt”. Sounds exciting right? Well, needless to say I clicked on it and the monstrosity I stumbled across was absolutely unacceptable. You’d think from a title saying “6 SUPER different ways” they would actually style the shirt different ways, however they did not and this got me thinking. I bet I could wear the same T-shirt for a whole week and style it differently every day. And thus the challenge was set forth.


Day 1 - Simple Beginnings


For day 1 I wanted to go for something simple to really get the t-shirt in its natural form. I decided to wear the shirt untucked over rolled up blue jeans and a black pair of hunter boots. I also decided to wear this black wide brim hat from H&M to give it a more chic fashionable look. Overall I think this look is sweet and simple, perfect for a day out with friends.


Day 2 - Professional Baby Steps


For day 2 I was still sticking with the basics. The other obvious way to style a t-shirt is to tuck it into your pants, and thats exactly what I did. I paired it with a white pair of plaid-print trousers and some brown dress shoes to give the look a little more of a professional feel. This outfit would be great if you needed to go and meet up with a client or to go run some errands. The perfect business casual.


Day 3 - Gold Digger


For day 3 I wanted to start spicing things up. We’ve done the tucked and the untucked, so what’s next? BLING! I decided to pimp out my t-shirt with as much gold as tastefully possible and the results were our classic black shirt tucked into a pair of black leather pants, accessorized with a gold metal belt and multi-chain gold necklace. For shoes I went with a pair of black and yellow puma suedes to really complete the whole bumblebee aesthetic. I’m really happy with how this outfit turned out. It’s definitely something I could see myself wearing out for a night or even just to post to my Instagram.


Day 4 - Little Cheetah on the Prairie


For day 4 the whole concept I had in mind for styling the shirt was with pairing. The beauty in a simple black top like this is that it's amazing to pair with other items and not draw attention away from them. In fact most times it adds to the garment because it helps support it in the overall look. To demonstrate I got the black shirt, threw a cheetah print windbreaker I had over it and paired it with black adidas track pants and a touque. For shoes I went with a pair of white filas to add to the sporty casual look and overall I’m digging it. Probably one of my favourite outfits throughout the whole week.


Day 5 - Tied Up


Day 5 was kind of a flop for me. I wanted to try exploring the concept of tying your shirt but I found that the t-shirt was too small to successfully execute this. Eventually with the help of an elastic band I was able to get the shirt knotted up in the place I wanted and paired the look with a pair of black and white of loose fitted cropped pants. I threw a necklace on as well to make the outfit a bit more visually interesting but overall I’d say this was one of my least favourite outfits of the week. It just fell flat for me.


Day 6 - 1 Layer, 2 Layers, 3 Layers, MORE


New day new idea, and todays idea was layering. I took the black t-shirt and put it overtop a denim button up and put a simple black blazer overtop of that. I’ll be honest it definitely has a substitute teacher vibe, but maybe that’s the type of look you’re going for. As far as practicality wise I could not see myself comfortably wearing this for a whole day. Immediately after this picture was taken I had to change because it felt like I was suffocation under all those layers. Plus it was HOT under there.


Day 7 - The Fabric Purge


So Day 7 arrives and I wanted to go out with a bang. I decided we didn’t really have any summer type looks (probably because it’s the middle of winter in Vancouver) so I went for a festival inspired outfit. The concept of this styling was the art of DIY and simply altering your clothes to reinvent your wardrobe. All I did hear was take a pair of scissors and fringe the sleeves of the t-shirt, and honestly I’m really impressed with the results (just don't get too close up). To complete the outfit I paired our renewed shirt with a pair of black shorts and white shoes, along with some festival kaleidoscope glasses I got off of amazon. I absolutely loved this look because it really goes to show that you don't need to be a talented sewer or a design genius in order to create something cool. Its can be as simple as grabbing a pair of scissors and going to town.


My week spent wearing the same black t-shirt was honestly a trip, but what an amazing trip it was. It forced me to thing outside the box and try things I normally wouldn't do in my day to day life and I liked that. I even found myself really liking most of the outfits. Also it really goes to show that it doesn’t necessarily matter what articles of clothing you have, its more about how you style it and what you make of it. This has been a really insightful journey and I would encourage anyone reading this to give it a try themselves, you might be surprised what you come up with.

17 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page