top of page
  • Writer's pictureDustin

Digital Detox: Reflection 2

A day without technology. It seems like a simple task but when you think of all the subtle nuances where technology has blended into our everyday lives it’s a tougher task than you’d think. Every day I usually wake up and immediately check my phone. It’s almost like a morning routine for me, similar to having breakfast or an early morning jog. Instead, on this morning I took my phone and locked it away in a box for a full 24 hours.



At first, the world seemed quiet. Like really quiet. No longer did I have the buzz of YouTube playing on my phone or the background rumblings of TikTok. Instead, my ears were filled with the humming of our furnace and the ticking of our wall clock.


Aside from the silence, boredom was the second factor to creep in. What was I to do with all my time now that I had nothing to distract myself with? Well with every curse comes a blessing, and luckily for me I had a plethora of classwork to get caught up on. The perfect timing for a digital detox!


It’s funny to think back to a time before we had smartphones. Before social media and technology invaded our lives and overtook societal normality. Back to the days when if you wanted to talk to someone you physically had to go to their house and see them. Our world is constantly evolving and I’m both excited and terrified to see what the future has in store for us.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page